TDOM Day 29: A Song From Your Childhood

Bob Marley and the Wailers – Trenchtown Rock

This is the first song on the Live! album by Bob Marley and the Wailers, which my dad had on vinyl in a box that was either always broken or broken by me in my early years of experimenting with putting spinning sheets of fuzz onto our five-in-one stereo.

It was also the first song on a mixtape my dad blasted on car trips for what seemed like about five years but was probably only one summer. Because of this, the sound of the MC introducing them is locked in my head as a something-is-about-to-start soundbite. I put it on mixtape-type endeavours myself, sometimes the full song and sometimes just the intro cut out.

This is the Bob Marley album album I listen to most as well. All around positives for this song.

Leave a Reply

