IP Soundbites: Is Irish music even Irish?

“I think a lot of people would rather not be Irish right now”

(Angkorwat, 2)

“I’m obsessed with the surreal and obscene, which could be a national trait.”

(Jon Dots, 12)

“People have said that I sing in an Irish accent, which I guess I do. It’s not really a great accent for singing in theory but it’s my accent and singing other way would not be me.”

(Ambience Affair, 14)

“Everything from the way I sing to what I sing about is informed by where I’ve grown up and where I live”

(Big Monster Love, 6)

“My motivations, and in particular the aesthetic of the music, are in no way rooted in Irish culture or the Irish ‘experience’. There’s nothing in my work that can be traced back to a movement in Irish music or art.”

(Hunter Gatherer, 9)

“Perhaps … but I don’t think I would recognise it. There is no intention.”

(Patrick Kelleher, 3)

One response to “IP Soundbites: Is Irish music even Irish?

  1. Pingback: On Music, Being Irish And Into It « Run Into Thunder

Leave a Reply

