National Poetry Day #4

(Okay, last one.)
.

I’ve found a small dragon in the woodshed
Think it must have come from deep inside a forest
because it’s damp and green and leaves
are still reflecting in its eyes.

I fed it on many things, tried grass,
the roots of stars, hazel-nut and dandelion,
but it stared up at me as if to say, I need
food you can’t provide.

It made a nest among the coal,
not unlike a bird’s but larger,
it is out of place here
and is quite silent.

If you believed in it I would come
hurrying to your house to let you share my wonder,
but I want instead to see
if you yourself will pass this way.

– Brian Patten, ‘A small dragon’ from Love Poems (1990).

I first read this in a primary school poetry anthology and the image stuck with me for some reason, but reading it now, it’s bizarre to think someone somewhere thought it would make sense to children.

One response to “National Poetry Day #4

  1. I pick my nose with Icicles out i…………only joking.

Leave a Reply

