List Week! 8. Difficult Albums

kid

Avey Tare and Kria Brekkan – Pullhair Rubeye (backwards)
Ariel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti – Doldrums (tape-warp)
Panda Bear – Young Prayer (all songs untitled)
Royal Trux – Twin Infinitives (goes through head like drill)
Velvet Underground – White Light/White Heat (lengthy short story track difficult to skip on vinyl)

7 responses to “List Week! 8. Difficult Albums

  1. You’re mental, The Gift is a great track.

  2. Yeah, the first ten or fifteen times.

  3. SunO)))-black one: vocals come courtesy of black metal artist malefic nailed in a coffin.

    Autechre-7.0

    Captain Beefheart-Trout mask replica

    Major Organ and the Adding Machine-self titled

  4. re: D’s comment.

    I was surprised how easy I found it to get into TMR when I first listened to it after years of being put off by its reputation. I suppose the reason for it is that over the years I’ve listened to a great deal of stuff that’s influenced by it.

  5. I have Trout Mask Replica upstairs. Was never a fan, but I think I might have hopped on a bit too early in my musical development. I think I had read a “top 100 most influential albums” thing somewhere and went out and bought Velvet Underground and Nico, Ziggy Stardust and TMR in one go. Might have another try.

  6. What’s wrong with White Light/White Heat? Just listen on CD. Problemo solved.

  7. Considering beethearts 1st album “safe as milk” is a bona fide pacted with deadliness, the follow up T.M.R is just down absurd. Again its been many moons since i put it on.

Leave a Reply

